The Rewarding Part

Standard

So, a few weeks ago, I put up a post about how editing is hard.  This wasn’t necessarily news for most writers, especially those who have taken the time to polish a piece for submission or publication.  It felt like news to me this time around.  Even though I’ve gone through the process many times before, and I have a book out, this most recent editing and revision pass has been excruciating.

But now I’ve gotten to the rewarding part.  I reworked over 300,000 words worth of variously revised chapters and scenes into about 132,000 words worth of beginning, middle, and climax.  I just have a few scenes worth of falling action and conclusion left.  I’m beginning to get excited about having a completed draft again.

Having fought through all the tough rewrites and cutting some of my favorite scenes and lines, I’m almost to “the end” again.  By this time next week, I should have the last little bit finished and be ready to work on something else for a change.  And just in time for Camp NaNoWriMo’s July session.

I’m always excited about finishing a draft, but there’s something even better about finishing a hard won revision.  I feel like I’ve worked so much harder to reach this goal and it makes the victory even sweeter.  Plus, there’s some concrete evidence of all that work.  When all is said and done, I’ll have cut the manuscript in half, which means a tighter plot and less filler.  I’ll have better focused on my main story line, and thinned the subplots so that they’re properly named again.  And I might even have properly teased out the subplot I’ve been struggling with the most (we’ll have to wait and see if the last few scenes turn out as planned).

The point of all this, is that even though editing can feel like a struggle, it’s definitely rewarding to keep pushing through and getting the work done.  So if you find yourself wallowing in the middle of your edits, take heart and keep pushing forward.  The best part is still to come.

2 thoughts on “The Rewarding Part

  1. Frеelancing caan еven lead to a big “рlus” concerning your income.
    Instead of having tߋ accept the precise wɑge thats suⲣplied by the
    one reցulation firm that you simply work, youve an excessіve amount
    of leeway in settihg your personal pay rates.
    This fɑctor cann result in considerably more caѕh for you.

Leave a Reply

