Overlook: A to Z Challenge 2017 Post #15

Standard

Welcome to my A to Z Blogging Challenge Posts.

This month I’ve challenged myself to not only do 26 blog posts in 30 days based on One Word Writing Prompts, but also to try to link them together into some kind of cohesive whole.  I’d love to hear how you think I’m doing.  If you want to start the story from the beginning, check out the Angel post from April 1.

Today’s One Word Writing Prompt:

The definitions are from the Oxford English Dictionary via their on-line access (which I have through my University employer).  Feel free to skip down to the story segment if you don’t share my fascination with words, definitions, and shades of meaning.

Overlook

overlook, n.
1. A considering glance or look; a general survey, an overview; (also) inspection. rare.
2. orig. and chiefly Jamaican. More fully overlook bean, †overlook pea. Any of several plants of the genusCanavalia (family Fabaceae ( Leguminosae)), esp. the jack bean, C. ensiformis, traditionally planted at the edge of crops in parts of the Caribbean and thought to protect them against theft and the evil eye.
3. A failure to see or notice something; an oversight. Now rare.
4. U.S. A (high) place affording a view of the scene below; a view from such a place.
overlook, v.
trans.
a. To look upon from above; to survey; to view openly. Freq. in pass. Also fig.
b. Of a place, etc.: to afford or command a view of.
†2. trans. fig. To look down on; to despise; to treat with contempt, to slight. Obs.
3. trans. To look (a thing) over or through; to examine, scrutinize, inspect; to peruse, read through.
4. trans.
a. To fail to see or observe; to pass over without noticing; to leave out of consideration, disregard, ignore.
†b. refl. To fail to perceive one’s duty; to forget oneself. Cf. oversee v. 7. Obs.
5. trans. To watch over officially, look after, oversee. Now rare.
†6. trans.
a. To look over the top of (something) so as to see what is beyond. Also fig. Obs.
b. fig. To rise above; to be higher than. Obs.
7. trans. To cast the evil eye on; to bewitch. Now chiefly regional.
†8.> trans. To look or appear more than. Obs. nonce-use.

Today’s Story Segment:

Overlook

Rosario was waiting on the couch when Uriel emerged from the bedroom.  The clothes provided were a reasonable fit to Uriel’s large frame, but it had taken him a few tries to get the very small buttons fastened on the shirt.  He was now dressed very similarly to Rosario, in what the man had called pants and a shirt that buttons up the front and had a bit of fabric that folded down around the neck.  Uriel hadn’t been able to fasten the last two buttons without feeling slightly strangled, so he’d left them undone.

“I hope you found the facilities sufficient for your needs and the clothing acceptable,” Rosario said.

“Yes, thank you,” Uriel said.  “I could become quite accustomed to the plumbing in the bathing area.”

“Yes, we’ve all become very spoiled by it,” Rosario said with a soft chuckle.  “I ordered some dinner for us, but was unsure what you might eat,” he said, motioning to two trays with silver domes on them that sat on the low table between the couch and chairs.

“Thank you for thinking of it,” Uriel said, moving to the chair opposite Rosario’s place on the couch.  “I must confess that I often overlook the need for things like food and rest when I am here.”

“So you require both?” Rosario asked.

“We only require rest when we have overexerted ourselves, which I did today to some extent, but we must eat at least occasionally to sustain our corporeal form.  Once every few days is sufficient, but if we may need reserves of strength it is best if we eat every day.”

“You are always welcome to share meals with me,” Rosario said.  “We are still required to eat much as a human would, though we can survive longer without if need be.  I usually have a meal two or three times a day depending on how busy I have become with my work by midday.”

“I will not need much, but I appreciate your concern for me,” Uriel replied.  He was not used to anyone being so focused on his needs.  Usually when he was sent to earth he was to be as inconspicuous as possible.

“Are there any restrictions on what you are able to eat?” Rosario asked.

“We are able to eat anything a human can,” Uriel replied.

“Do you have any preferences then?” Rosario asked, reaching out to lift the silver domes and reveal the plates beneath them.  “I had them send up a chicken dish and a vegetarian dish in case you didn’t eat meat.  I would be happy with either, so you may have whichever you prefer.”

Uriel glanced at the plates.  Chicken he knew.  The vegetarian dish appeared for be some type of legume in a red sauce with something white and fluffy beside it.

“I am unfamiliar with these foods, or the term vegetarian,” Uriel replied.

“My apologies,” Rosario said.  “Vegetarian dishes contain no meat or meat products.  This is a slightly spicy dish made with chickpeas and a side of rise, and the chicken dish is cooked in a red wine sauce.”

“I have never been fond of meats,” Uriel said.  “I shall try the vegetarian dish.”

“I hope you enjoy it,” Rosario said, picking up the plate with the chicken and the silverware and the white cloth beneath them.  “We’ll probably be more comfortable at the table,” he said, moving toward a small one on the other side of the room.

Uriel collected the silverware and cloth as well as his own plate and followed Rosario.  There were two clear cups with clear liquid in them on the table, which was barely big enough for both plates.  Uriel set his items down, following Rosario’s example as much as possible.  Table manners appeared to be relatively close to what Uriel was used to.  He lifted the spoon and scooped up a small amount of the chickpeas, sauce, and rice.

It was quite enjoyable, he thought as he chewed thoughtfully.  He knew some of his fellows took great joy in the opportunity to eat when they were in corporeal form, but Uriel had always thought of it as a simple issue of maintaining his form.

Between bites, Uriel set down his spoon.

“I was wondering if there were books available that might help me learn what I have missed of human history,” he said.  “That would seem more expedient than you trying to explain it to me.”

“That’s a very good idea,” Rosario said with a smile.  “I’ll see what I can find here at home, and if there isn’t anything suitable, I can get something delivered by tomorrow evening.”

“Thank you,” Uriel said before picking up his spoon once more.  He had enjoyed reading on the few occasions he’d been able to.  Books had always been rare, and a commodity of the rich, but he’d occasionally been sent somewhere that he had access to them for a short time at least.

“In the meantime, please don’t hesitate to ask me any questions you may have.  Tomorrow I will need to return to my work.  Savion will accompany me, and you may if you like, though we may have to stop somewhere to procure properly fitting clothes and a pair of shoes for you.”

“Shoes are a common thing now?” Uriel asked.  It had always been bare feet or sandals before.

“Yes, and in many places they are required.  We can sort that out first thing tomorrow, and then I can show you my workplaces so you can become familiar with where I spend my days.  It will be up to you whether you wish to accompany me every day, or if you have other means of being near without having to shadow me at all times.”

Uriel nodded.  He could always step out of time if needed.  It would allow him to read more quickly, while also keeping close to Rosario without intruding on the man’s life.  He would see how dangerous Rosario’s workplace was before making any decisions.

3 thoughts on “Overlook: A to Z Challenge 2017 Post #15

Leave a Reply

