Jewelry: A to Z Challenge 2017 Post #10

Standard

Welcome to my A to Z Blogging Challenge Posts.

This month I’ve challenged myself to not only do 26 blog posts in 30 days based on One Word Writing Prompts, but also to try to link them together into some kind of cohesive whole.  I’d love to hear how you think I’m doing.  If you want to start the story from the beginning, check out the Angel post from April 1.

Today’s One Word Writing Prompt:

The definitions are from the Oxford English Dictionary via their on-line access (which I have through my University employer).  Feel free to skip down to the story segment if you don’t share my fascination with words, definitions, and shades of meaning.

Jewelry

jewellery | jewelry, n.
Jewellers’ work; gems or ornaments made or sold by jewellers; esp. precious stones in mountings; jewels collectively, or as a form of adornment.

Today’s Story Segment:

Jewelry

“That’s a lot of human history to miss,” Rosario said, his eyes growing rather wide as he looked at Uriel.

“Normally, I would have been given the information, but I did not think to ask, and Michael did not offer as he has in the past, so I was sent down with no additional knowledge.”

“I guess that means you don’t spend all your time watching humanity then,” Rosario said.

“No, we do not normally have any means of watching the world.  The Lord does not need us to watch.”

“It’s a common belief among humans these days that angels watch over mankind as part of the Lord’s protections of them,” Rosario said as the door to the little room opened to reveal a different hallway once more.

Uriel stepped out, looking both ways down this hallway and seeing no one in evidence.  “How does that little room work?” Uriel asked, turning back to watch Rosario as he stepped out of it.  “It seems to open and close to different locations each time.”

“This is an elevator,” Rosario said.  “It is a metal box of sorts that moves up and down the building through a shaft.  When the doors open on the first floor, it is the entryway you came in through, since that is what is on the first floor.  There are twenty-six floors in this particular building, so the elevator can access each of those twenty-six floors.  Does that make sense?”

“So it is a room that moves?” Uriel asked.  “And that is why the doors open to different locations?”

“Yes,” Rosario said, nodding as he began to walk left down the hallway.  “They were invented to help when building grew taller and stairs became too much work, or unnavigable by some.”

Uriel nodded.  Stairs seemed like a perfectly fine way to move from one floor to another to him, but he was not human.

“This is my suite,” Rosario said, stopping at a door.  “Savino has the suite on the other side of the elevator, and the two other suites on the floor are currently unoccupied.  You can stay with me for as long as your Lord feels it is necessary.”

“When the dire need has passed, I will be called home,” Uriel said.  “I appreciate your willingness to keep me close during my time here.”

“It would be exceedingly rude of me to insist you stay far away, not to mention quite daft,” Rosario replied.  “If the need is dire, then it is in my own best interests to keep you close by.  What if I sent you away just when the need was greatest?  I have lived too long to be such a fool.”

“How long have you lived?” Uriel asked.

“I was probably still human the last time you walked the earth,” Rosario replied.  “It was before there were emperors in Rome.”

“I do not know how much time has passed,” Uriel replied.  He knew it had been a long time, and that anyone alive then should have been long dead, but they did not track years the way the humans did.

“It was more than two millennia ago,” Rosario explained as he led Uriel through a sitting room not unlike Evander’s.  “That room is mine,” he said, pointing to the left.  “You can have this room,” he added, moving to the right and opening another door.

The room was decorated in greens and blues and the bed was larger than any Uriel had seen before with study wooden posts at each corner.

“There’s an in suite bathroom you can use to clean up,” Rosario said as he opened yet another door.  “Do you know anything about plumbing?”

“Plumbing?” Uriel repeated.  “That word does not make sense to me.”

“Okay, why don’t you get out of your bloody shirt at least, and I can show you how everything in here works before you bathe.”

Uriel pulled at the hem of his shirt and lifted his arms so that it would come off over his head.  It felt strange as it moved through his wings.  It always did when he had to deal with clothes.  Once they were on or off, Uriel was fine, but he did not enjoy the feeling of the cloth moving through his wings.

Rosario turned back to him as he was lowering his arms with the shirt in one hand.

“You have a necklace,” Rosario said.

“Yes,” Uriel said, glancing down at it.  “I always have it with me when I am in corporeal form.”

“I didn’t expect an angel to wear jewelry.”

“It only looks like jewelry,” Uriel said.  This time it appeared as a small, pale, mottled, white, green, and blue chunk of aquamarine dangling from a thin leather thong.

5 thoughts on “Jewelry: A to Z Challenge 2017 Post #10

Leave a Reply

