Immortality: A to Z Challenge 2017 Post #9

Standard

Welcome to my A to Z Blogging Challenge Posts.

This month I’ve challenged myself to not only do 26 blog posts in 30 days based on One Word Writing Prompts, but also to try to link them together into some kind of cohesive whole.  I’d love to hear how you think I’m doing.  If you want to start the story from the beginning, check out the Angel post from April 1.

Today’s One Word Writing Prompt:

The definitions are from the Oxford English Dictionary via their on-line access (which I have through my University employer).  Feel free to skip down to the story segment if you don’t share my fascination with words, definitions, and shades of meaning.

Immortality

immortality, n.
1. The quality or condition of being immortal; exemption from death or annihilation; endless life or existence; eternity; perpetuity.
2. The condition of being celebrated through all time; enduring fame or remembrance.

Today’s Story Segment:

Immortality

“I understand the contract that was made,” Uriel said.  “But I do not fully understand what you became, and how you are still alive.”

“Put extremely simply, I discovered the secret to immortality,” Evander said.  “It’s not a perfect immortality, mind you, just a partial one.”

“And these two are like you?” Uriel asked.  “You have made them immortal as well?”

“In a manner of speaking,” Evander replied.

“We are not immortal in our own right,” Rosario said.  “We will live as long as Evander lives.”

“So the ones you created, their life is tied to yours?”

“Yes,” Evander agreed.  “I did not know that at the time, but it became obvious later.  The connection also goes two ways to a certain degree.  Creating them links them to my life and links me to theirs.  This allows us to speak directly to each other’s minds.  It also allows me to know where they are at all times, and to sense when one of them is in danger of dying.”

“We also feel each other to a certain degree,” Savino said.  “I can tell where Rosario is when he calls me to aid him.  I can also locate any of our other brothers if they have reached out to me.  We can all feel Evander at all times.”

“Our existence is contrary to the beliefs of most humans,” Evander said.  “We earned the name vampire many decades ago.  One of our number had grown insane, and was killing humans.  Before we could reach him and stop him from doing any more damage, he had progressed to a stage where he was biting them and drinking their blood.  We have never been able to shed the name, even though we consume food like any mortal human.”

“What do you consider yourselves to be if you are not vampires and you are not humans?” Uriel asked.

“That is an interesting question for you to ask,” Evander said, smiling at Uriel.  “You continue to surprise me.”

“It would be rude to refer to you as a vampire, since such a thing does not exist, but you speak in such a way that I assume you no longer consider yourselves human, so it would be disrespectful for me to refer to you as such,” Uriel explained.

“We simply call each other brothers,” Savino said.

“And we refer to Evander as our creator, or sometimes as our father in mixed company,” Rosario said.  “We do not have a name for our kind in the traditional sense.”

“And what do you think of your creations as?” Uriel asked Evander.  This was the important thing.  It would tell Uriel if Evander was a true creator, or someone he should be wary of.

“They are my children,” Evander said.  “They may not share my blood the way a human child would have, but they chose to become part of the family I have created, and a think of each and every one of them as the sons and daughters I always longed for in life.”

Uriel nodded.  That was a proper view for a creator to have.

“Perhaps now would be an appropriate time to suggest a room for Uriel,” Rosario said.  “I’m sure we can find some suitable clothing so that he can bath and change before we continue our talk.”

“I would enjoy the chance to cleanse myself,” Uriel agreed.  He had a better idea of who he was serving now, and he knew that he was here at his Lord’s will.  He would never disobey his creator.  “The building is secure, yes?”

“It is,” Evander replied.  “I make sure that my children are safe here,” he added.  “You should never need to worry about Rosario’s safety while he is here.”

“Perhaps,” Uriel replied as he stood.  “You mentioned one of your children had gone mad before.  It is possible it could happen again.”

“It would be hard for them to progress very far in their madness without all of us noticing here,” Evander replied.  “He was only able to become so unhinged because he was away from all of us.  Since then I have asked all my children to reside with at least two others so that they will be there to support each other.  Isolation is a dangerous thing for the mind.”

Uriel nodded.  It made sense, but he would not trust to such reassurances.  He was sent to protect Rosario in an hour of dire need.  He would not fail in his duty.

“Why don’t you let Uriel stay in the second room in your suite, Rosario,” Evander suggested.  “That way he will be close to you, and will not worry that he is neglecting his duty when you are both retiring for the night.”

“A reasonable solution,” Rosario agreed.  “If you would come with me,” he said to Uriel as he rose.  “Savino, if you could ask one of our brothers of an appropriate size for a few changes of clothes we can loan to Uriel until we can provide him with his own.”

“Of course,” Savion replied.  “I will bring them to your suite.”

“Thank you,” Rosario said before turning toward the door once more.  He led the way to the elevator, making himself not glance back to make sure Uriel was behind him.  He could hear the faint sound of Uriel’s wing’s moving as they walked.

Rosario was glad that the elevator was still there and they did not have to wait.  He wasn’t entirely sure what to say to Uriel now that he knew the truth about him and his brothers.  He wondered how Uriel saw them.

Rosario stepped to the side of the elevator, glancing sideways at Uriel before pressing the button for his floor.  He shared it with Savino, so there would be no one else about and Uriel could be fairly comfortably there he hoped.

“You mentioned Michael saying there would be much for you to explain to me,” Uriel said softly as the elevator took them down.

“Yes, he implied I would have to explain things to you,” Rosario replied.  “Did he mean more than simply what we are and why you were sent here?”

“The last time I walked the earthly plane the Romans ruled the world.  I know very little about your current world.”

9 thoughts on “Immortality: A to Z Challenge 2017 Post #9

Leave a Reply

