Gadget: A to Z Challenge 2017 Post #7

Standard

Welcome to my A to Z Blogging Challenge Posts.

This month I’ve challenged myself to not only do 26 blog posts in 30 days based on One Word Writing Prompts, but also to try to link them together into some kind of cohesive whole.  I’d love to hear how you think I’m doing.  If you want to start the story from the beginning, check out the Angel post from April 1.

Today’s One Word Writing Prompt:

The definitions are from the Oxford English Dictionary via their on-line access (which I have through my University employer).  Feel free to skip down to the story segment if you don’t share my fascination with words, definitions, and shades of meaning.

Gadget

gadget, n.
1. Used as an indefinite or general name for: a comparatively small fitting, contrivance, or piece of mechanism.
2. spec. in local use. A winch or similar mechanical gear for discharging vessels; (also) a craft equipped with such gear.
3. transf. and gen. An accessory or adjunct; a knick-knack or gewgaw.
4. Glass-making. A spring-clip used for gripping the foot of a wine or other footed glass when it is being shaped.

Today’s Story Segment:

Gadget

Rosario kept an eye on Evander as he moved toward a table at the back of the room.

“What are you looking for?” Rosario asked.

“I know where it is,” Evander replied, pulling open a drawer and pulling out something small and square before returning to his chair.  “I do so love all these modern gadgets,” Evander said as he powered on the digital camera.

“You want to take pictures of an angel?” Rosario asked.

“He’s worth having pictures of,” Savino said softly.

“Your both horrible,” Rosario told them before turning to Uriel.  “Evander wants to use a special devise to take an image of your person.  Is that alright?”

“Take an image?” Uriel asked, frowning.  “Like a painting?”

“Sort of,” Rosario answered.  “Only it happens instantly.”

“I was told humans might fear my presence,” Uriel said.  “That is why I hid my wings before.  Would this image cause fear?”

“No,” Savino answered for them.  “Most will either assume it’s fake, or that it was created through creative use of props.  It won’t make anyone afraid.  They’ll just think it’s art, like a painting of something that isn’t real.”

Uriel nodded.

“Splendid,” Evander said.  “Thought the blood stained shirt might not be the best idea.”

“Perhaps you could ask nicely later and Uriel will let you take a picture then,” Rosario suggested.  “If he is to guard and assist me, then it is only right that we should provide him with a room of his own and see to his needs while he is with us.”

“You just don’t want me to take a picture,” Evander accused in a falsely petulant voice.

Rosario rolled his eyes.  His creator could still be such a child on occasion.

“I want you to finish explaining things to Uriel and stop trying to wiggle out of it,” Rosario replied.

“Very well,” Evander said, setting the camera on the side table.  “I will tell Uriel the story of how I made a contract with his creator.

7 thoughts on “Gadget: A to Z Challenge 2017 Post #7

Leave a Reply

