Preparing for the A to Z adventure

Standard

Since we’re coming up on April and the A to Z Blogging Challenge, I wanted to give everyone an idea of what to expect over the next month.

My regular visitors know by now that I usually post once a week on Fridays at 10am EST.  This works for me, my blog, and my process.  In April, things are a bit different.  For one thing, I’m posting a heck of a lot more often.  However, I will continue my two standard monthly posts on the second and third Friday.  So there will still be an Image Prompt on April 14 and I’ll still post my response to that prompt on April 21.  This pushes the challenge post to later in the day, usually 1pm EST.

The other things that’s going to be different this year, is that all the posts are going to be primarily fiction.  As I revealed on Monday, my theme for this year’s challenge is One Word Writing Prompts.  I’ve already started working on them, and so far I’ve been weaving them together as a single cohesive story, which I plan to continue.  So over the course of the month (and probably into May because I know me) I’ll be posting a new segment in a continuing story.

The other thing that will be a bit new is the definitions I’m including at the beginning of each post to go along with the One Word Writing Prompt.  I love words and word histories and etymology and language development and all the things that make studying language interesting.  And because of that, my very favorite dictionary is the Oxford English Dictionary.  It includes all the etymology and examples and so much more.  While I’m not including the entire entry (that would be way too long), I am including all the various shades of meaning.

I’m a few posts into my drafting for this, and so far it looks like this is going to be an urban fantasy of some kind.  The supernatural elements came in pretty fast, and it’s a genre I enjoy reading and writing, so I’m going to run with it and see where it takes me.  I hope you’ll come along for the ride with me in April and have as much fun reading the story as I’m going to have writing it.

12 thoughts on “Preparing for the A to Z adventure

    • Thanks so much! I’m always happy when I can inspire someone to write even a little. It’s my biggest passion and the one thing I evangelize about.
      Good luck with your A to Z project too. I’m looking forward to seeing your creations.

  1. How creative! I’m sure you’ll have a lot of fun with this theme. I’m impressed that you’re keeping up with your regular posts too. April is basically taken over by the A to Z on my site. Thanks for your visit.

    • Thank you for your visit as well! I’m really look forward to your posts this month.
      Keeping up with my regular posts really only means two extra posts this April, but I like keeping up that little prompt thing I do. It really helps me keep ideas moving and my creativity up, especially when I’m busy with other things.

    • Thanks so much. What I first started out with the blog, I found a lot of advice saying that consistent, regular posts is a better strategy that sporadic but possibly more plentiful. It’s really worked for me over the past few years. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  2. leannelc

    This sounds like a really interesting way to do the Challenge – picking a word and then weaving it together so it becomes a whole sounds wonderful. I’ll be back over April to read along. Thanks for stopping by my blog – I love meeting other bloggers! Leanne | cresting the hill

    • I love crafting stories, and with a time crunch and other projects, that seemed like the best way to stay motivated for the challenge this April. I hope you enjoy the story, and I hope I can find the time to check our your posts this month as well. It’s going to be so busy.

  3. Ah, someone else who’s rejigging things on their blog to make room for A to Z Challenge posts. Guess what I’ve been spending the day doing? 😉

    I love that process when you’re writing a story and things happen that you weren’t really expecting. Have fun with it.

    Cait @ Click’s Clan

Leave a Reply

