Adventures in Moving 3: Moving Eve

Standard

It’s moving day eve.

By the end of the day I have to pick up a rental truck, take the legs off my loveseat, and take the top off my table.  By 8am tomorrow I have to bag my mattress and box spring and disassemble the bed frame.  At least after that I don’t have to haul any of those things into the actual truck.  I hired people to help with that much at least.

Or at least that was the original plan…

Anyone on the southeast coast of the US probably already knows about Hermine.  This lovely hurricane that’s already made landfall in Florida is going to dump a huge amount of rain on North Carolina on its way back to the Atlantic over the next 48 hours.  We’re still picking up the rental truck tonight, and we’re still planning to move some things on our own tomorrow (anything in plastic tubs for one), but we’ve rescheduled the moving help for Sunday so we don’t have to move all the furniture in the rain.  The good news is that I found my tarp (in the trunk of my car) and we can take our time and stress less about the move itself this way.

A good portion of the boxes I’ve packed over the past three weeks are already at the new apartment.  I’ve been taking them over a car-full at a time every Saturday and a few weekdays I took off since we got our keys.  That’s making moving a lot less stressful than it could have been.  So is knowing I have help for loading the truck.  I’d be freaking out right now about how much I was going to hurt by the end of the move if it was just me and a friend or two moving all my furniture.

So I’m still feeling pretty good about the move all things considered.  I have a plan for the furniture layout, a vague idea of where everything is going to live in the new kitchen (twice the size of the old one!), and I’m looking forward the ease of keeping laminate floors clean instead of carpet vacuumed.

I also have a lot to get done today, so I’m going to leave it here.  Below you’ll find some pictures documenting the moving process.  It’s been quite the adventure already, but it’s not over yet.  I’ll probably share some of the fun of tonight and tomorrow’s furniture disassemblies, tomorrow and Sunday’s moving, and the subsequent unpacking period, so you can look forward to that.

And now, the disarray that has been my life for the past few weeks:

The Chaos in the Old Apartment:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The New Apartment:

Boxes Accumulating at the New Apartment:

The Closets of Games:

Leave a Reply

