D is for Drive-Through Beer Stores: DUI Anyone?

Standard

If you stumbled upon me through the A to Z Blog Challenge, welcome.  If not, check out the challenge and all those participating at their site.

D

Today’s strange thing is Drive-Through Beer Stores.  Or Drive-Through Liquor Stores, I think some states have those too.

Is it just me, or are these DUIs waiting to happen?  Do you really need to make it even more convenient to get alcohol?  Really?

I just think it is so completely bizarre that there are stores where you can buy alcohol without leaving your car.  Especially in a state like mine where it’s actually illegal to have a closed container of alcohol in the front seat of your car.

I don’t have much else to say on this one.  They’re just so strange I can’t get over it.  The idea seems so counter intuitive when you think of all the money and time spent trying to keep people from drinking and driving.

So drive safe, don’t drink and drive, and try not to let the strangeness get to you.

13 thoughts on “D is for Drive-Through Beer Stores: DUI Anyone?

    • I don’t know about uniquely, but I definitely agree with terrible. Tents full of fireworks for sale on the side of the road seem like a similarly terribly idea and that definitely happens.

  1. We have quite of few of these where I live. I don’t drink but I have been through the drive thru. It is very convenient when you don’t want (or can’t) get out of the car. It has been so many years since I have been to one though, I cannot remember if they also allowed people inside or if it was just a drive thru.

    Stefani | Dreams of Nyssa

    • The stand alone ones I’ve seen are just drive thru with no inside access. I did live somewhere that had a gas station convenience store that had a drive thru and they did sell bear out the window along with everything else.

  2. Cassie

    I have thought this for a long time. I never understood the point. I mean, do people really just drive and say “give me some bud” or whatever? I don’t drink often, but when I do, it’s almost never the same thing I had the last time. Variety is the spice of life! Cassie from Mommy, RN

    • I’m pretty sure the people who use these are just getting what they always do. And I don’t think these are the types of places that carry much variety, though I’ve never actually driven through one to find out. Thanks for stopping by and good luck with your own A to Z blogging in April.

      • Cassie

        Yeah, I guess. I still agree it sounds like to opposite of what we want to do though. At least if you go to the store to get your drinks chances are they are in the back of your car! lol

  3. That’s finance for you. If you look hard enough, I’m sure you’ll find a load of things it’s lawful to buy, and okay to possess, but illegal to use. Money Trumps common sense every time.
    Ooh. Was that almost a political statement?

Leave a Reply

