A is for Astrology: Shine on Star Shine

Standard

If you stumbled upon me through the A to Z Blog Challenge, welcome.  If not, check out the challenge and all those participating at their site.

A

My first strange thing for the month is Astrology.  This topic allows me to talk about strangeness in two ways.  First, I find the entire concept a little strange and out there.  Second, as far as astrological signs go, I am a little strange.

I’ll start with how I’m strange within astrological sign assignment.  I am an Aries.  This general statement, as most people are used to hearing it, is talking about someone’s sun sign.  Those enthusiastic about astrology often put more stock in someone’s moon sign.  My moon sign is also Aries, which makes me a very rare and strange thing in astrology.  I’m told that it is very rare for someone to have the same moon and sun signs.

I personally, have always found my sign of Aries to be a strange fit.  Aries are known for their leadership and their fiery tempers.  I have almost no temper.  I’ve gotten mad enough that a stranger would be able to tell maybe twice in my life (that’s less than once a decade).  I also tend to be more of a follow in most situations.  Yes, I occasionally take on a leadership role, but I prefer to play the supporting role to a leader instead.  However, a good friend once told me that it actually made sense.  I forget now how she explained it to me, but at the time she was able to explain how I fit as an Aries.  I think it had to do with my drive to accomplish things maybe.  She was pretty into astrology, so she knew a lot more about the signs than the average person like me.  She could see how Aries wasn’t so strange a fit for me, which was neat to hear, but ultimately takes me back to my other point.

Astrology is strange.

I in no way wish to imply that I hold anything against those who believe in astrology, or have any strong negative emotional reaction to astrology or those who believe in it.  I just don’t really understand it.  How could the location of the stars and planets and what not at the time of my birth really affect the entire rest of my life, my personality, and who I would be best suited to be friends with or date, marry, and love?  It doesn’t really fit with the other beliefs I hold about the malleability of personality, intelligence, and relationships.  It doesn’t hold with my understanding of science or my personal religion either.

That doesn’t make astrology bad.  Far from it.  If it can help you take hold of your life and live it the way you want to, more power to you.  I think that’s great.  It would just feel really strange for me personally to rely on astrology to make any decisions about anything.  How you feel about astrology is a personal opinion, and you have every right to hold it, as long as you don’t try to force it on anyone else.  At least that’s my not so humble opinion about it.

Anyone else out there have the same sun and moon sign?

How do you feel about your astrological sign?  Do you know it and even check your horoscope?  Or did you have to go look it up to answer?

6 thoughts on “A is for Astrology: Shine on Star Shine

  1. Hmm I have no idea what my moon sign is. I will have to look into that. I believe there is probably something to the astrology, but I’m pretty clueless about it. I never much was interested in it. If it could tell me where to find the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow I would probably be much more interested, lol. I enjoyed your post and hope you have with the challenge.
    @ScarlettBraden from
    Frankly Scarlett

Leave a Reply

