Happy New Year – Where I’m From – 2016 Edition

Standard

I really like this poem prompt and it has a lot of room for creativity. Once a year in January, I’m going to do the prompt again and post it to the blog to see where I’m from that year that might be different from the year before or the year after.

Here’s a link to the “Where I’m From” Prompt. If you’d like to join me in this poem prompt, please link to your poem in the comments.

Here’s a link to last year’s poem for comparison.

 

And here is the 2016 version of “Where I’m From”

 

I am from plastic spoons and forks, from a 2006 Acer Aspire One netbook and a Logitech laser wireless mouse.

I am from the cluttered, box-filled, unrenovated, dimly lit apartment.

I am from the maple leaves, and the white pine trees.

I am from Christmas morning cheesy eggs and a love of books, from Carolyn and Jane and Elizabeth.

I am from the chocolate lovers and intellectual arguers.

From ‘you can be anything when you grow up’ and ‘don’t play with your food.’

I am from wooden crosses and full moons. Padded kneelers, forest glades, Christmas midnights, solitary practice, and Easter sunrises.

I’m from Monroeville, Scotland, England, and Germany, ricotta free lasagnas and homemade pumpkin pies.

From the Thanksgiving of illness and twice missed trains, the perseverance to drive home anyway, and the care and love waiting there.

I am from computer files, printed calendars, desktop frames, university libraries, and original artwork .  From family stories, founding ancestors, MP letters, and personal fiction. From the sharing of history, story, and love.

One thought on “Happy New Year – Where I’m From – 2016 Edition

Leave a Reply

