NaNoWriMo Prep Time

Standard

I am an unrepentant pantser!

There. I’ve said it.

And with that knowledge, it should be no surprise that only now, eight days before November, am I worrying about prepping for NaNoWriMo.

Don’t get me wrong. I’ve been preparing for November almost all year. I’m stepping into the ML role to help wrangle the event for my entire region, so I wanted to be very prepared. I have a nifty new donation box (it’s pretty, check it out), stickers to award as prizes throughout the month that can be ‘redeemed’ for raffle tickets at the TGIO party, prompts and challenges bagged and ready to share, and a host of other things to offer my regions WriMos. As far as all that goes, I am more than ready.

Yet I have no plot.

And according to NaNoWriMo founder Chris Baty, that is No Problem.

But what do I have? That’s the thing about pantsers, just because we don’t have a plot neatly outlined doesn’t mean we don’t know what we’re writing about.

I have character descriptions, back story scenes and personality profiles. Some of that is even written down.

I have a few major plot points, like the complication, and a vague idea of the ‘point z’ of the book. (Okay, so I don’t actually have this yet, but I will by November 1!)

I have a wealth of setting details from descriptions of the characters’ apartments and vehicles to the social and political stratification of my futuristic space colony society.

I have a rich world in my head in which my characters can play.

And I have a lot of motivation to write this story.

My NaNo Prep may look a little different from that of a plotter. But I have actually been doing it.

How do you prep for big projects, be it NaNoWriMo, something at work, or a personal undertaking of craft or hobby?

 

*Title Image Courtesy of NaNoWriMo.org

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Prep Time

Leave a Reply

