A NaNoWriMo Craft Project

Standard

I love doing arts and crafts. From beading and jewelry making, to costuming and sewing, and the occasional painting project, I love an afternoon spent crafting.

My latest project, as you can see, is NaNoWriMo based.

NaNoWriMo Donation Box Unpainted

The Unpainted mock up for size and fit.

As a new Municipal Liaison (or ML) for my NaNoWriMo Region, one of the things I will be doing is a little fundraising. Something that has been present with my MLs for the past few years were painted wooden boxes that held donations and helped WriMos identify their MLs when they go to events.

NaNoWriMo Donation Box Step 1

Step 1: Painting the Letters

So I decided to make my very own donation box that can double as my identifying mark on the table at Write-Ins.

I used acrylic paints on a plain wooden box. I like this one because it has a lid that’s peg-hinged as well as a magnetic closure. The paints are the standard craft store fair, and I use the cheapest brushes possible (also known as the ten piece set bought for me when I was about twelve…) but managed to get a pretty decent finished product.

NaNoWriMo Donation Box Step 2

Step 2: Paint the Box itself

Blue and Orange is my regions unofficial color scheme, so I went with those for my main colors and had some fun with the accents.

NaNoWriMo Donation Box Completed

The completed donation box. Including a peek of the silver lining!

Writing is my passion, and if I’m lucky my one day career, but I do have hobbies. What kind of things do you enjoy doing outside your standard work and social activities?

If you’re a fellow crafter, what’s your poison? What section of the craft store could you spend your entire paycheck in if you didn’t have other bills?

One thought on “A NaNoWriMo Craft Project

Leave a Reply

