A New NaNoWriMo Adventure

Standard

If you’ve been following my blog for a while, you’ve probably heard me mention National Novel Writing Month (or NaNoWriMo) before.  For anyone who hasn’t heard yet, it’s an amazingly fun challenge where you write a 50,000 word novel in 30 days.  Or at least make a good attempt and meet some great fellow writers.

This year, I’m starting a new NaNoWriMo adventure.  I’ve signed up to be a Municipal Liaison.  Affectionately known as an ML, a Municipal Liaison is a local volunteer who organizes events and Write-Ins and generally supports their region during NaNoWriMo.

I have two amazing co-MLs who have been doing it for years, and I’m in an amazingly active region, both of which are going to make this an amazing year as I embark on my first year as an organizer as well as a participant.

On top of all that, I’ll still be writing 50,000 words or more in the month of November.  I expect to be busy all month and exhausted by the end, but I also expect it to be an amazingly rewarding experience because I will have no only written a draft of a novel, but I will have helped others along that path as well.

Supporting and encouraging other writers is something I’m passionate about.  I want to hear about their novels and spend time with them while we’re all in a creative frenzy.  I want to help them talk through a tricky scene or character.  I want to be on a journey beside them as we all work toward finishing our manuscripts.  And I want to be there to share the joy when others reach their 50,000 word goal, or even just the 1,667 daily par.

Being in community with other writers is an amazing feeling, and I love it almost as much as I do writing.

I’ve found that community through NaNoWriMo.  Where have you found your writing community?

 

*Title Image Courtesy of NaNoWriMo.org

Leave a Reply

