Crack Dip

Standard

And now for something completely different!

This may not be a cooking blog, but it doesn’t mean I can’t share some of my favorite recipes.

This is Crack Dip, as my family knows it.  For the rest of you, it’s Buffalo Ranch Chicken Dip.

I love it for a quick and easy party food, and as a great writing snack (if you can eat it without being messy).

2015-07-31 Crack Dip Ingrediants

The Official Ingredient List:

2 – 8oz bricks Cream Cheese

1 cup – Ranch Dressing

¾ cup – Buffalo sauce

1 cup – shredded cheddar cheese

2 cups – chicken (finely chopped or shredded)

What I actually put in mine:

2 – 8oz bricks of no fat cream cheese (also known as Neufchatel)

1 cup – Hidden Valley Light Ranch

¾ cup – Franks Red Hot ( I use the regular or the Buffalo)

1 cup – shredded sharp cheddar cheese

2 – 10oz cans chicken (break up with fork)

The uncooked version.

The uncooked version.

The traditional preparation involved baking it.  You can find this version of the recipe on Kitchen Concoctions (which is where all the pictures in this post came from).  Yes, I stole the recipe from my sister, but she got it from a friend.  Good cooks share recipe’s because they’re awesome.

I cheat a little…

I soften the cream cheese in advance by leaving it on the counter for a few hours and cut it into chunks into a microwave safe bowl (1.5Liter is the best size).  Add all other ingredients except the chicken.  Microwave for a few minutes.  Stir.  Continue microwaving in 1-2 minute increments, stirring in between, until smooth.  Add Chicken.  Stir.  Heat one last time so its uniformly hot.

Serve with crackers, tortilla chips, etc.  I prefer tortilla chips.  Scoops of the small round ones are the best in my opinion.

The cooked version.

The cooked version.

So there is the recipe for Crack Dip.  Feel free to enjoy it yourself.  I’d love to hear what you think of it.

*All images in this post belong to my sister.

Leave a Reply

