Appreciating Your Mother

Standard

Mother’s Day isn’t one of those holidays you get time off for, but it’s one that I really love. Mother’s Day is all about celebrating the mothers in your life, be they your own mother, your daughter, sister, wife, or friend. I may be a little late this year, but I still wanted to share my thoughts on Mother’s Day.

Through the years, I’ve done a lot of different things to celebrate Mother’s Day with my mom. When we were very young, my sister and I made her pictures and other hand-made gifts. As we grew older and learned to save our allowance and gift money, we’d buy her real presents. We gave her picture frames, personalized name plates for her office, and tools for her gardening projects.

For the last few years money has been harder to come by, so I’ve returned to my roots and making hand-made presents. Building a cork board with hangers for necklaces, or finding the right set of dividers to use for organizing earrings. Small, practical things that have little monetary value, but great value to my mother in her daily life.

This year, I’m doing something a little different, but something I know she’ll really love.

I got a really nice scanner for Christmas this year. It scans great quality pictures and even negatives, so I’ve secretly borrowed all the family photos that have been sitting on a shelf in a closet for decades. This year, I’m going to give her digital copies of all the family pictures, including the ones we didn’t have prints of anymore.

Mother’s Day is about showing how important my mother is to me. Getting all the family pictures so that she can look through them easily, order prints, and make photo books and calendars will bring her so much joy, and it’s been so much fun looking through them all as I scan them and seeing myself and my family when we were all younger. And I know that she’ll appreciate my time and effort on this project far more than any gift I could have bought her.

As expected, this gift was a huge hit. Of course, something went wrong too. I managed to miss two thirds of the pictures on that shelf in the closet. Maybe I’ll manage to finish scanning the rest by Father’s Day.

What do you do for the mothers in your life at Mother’s Day?

Leave a Reply

