R is for Readers

Standard

If you stumbled upon me through the A to Z Blog Challenge, welcome. If not, check out the challenge and all those participating at their site.

 

Readers are the most important part of being an author. If no one is reading your work, then why are you writing it?

Don’t get me wrong, I know there is intrinsic value in the writing itself. I’ve even said that it’s cheaper than therapy, and I really do mean that. I use writing to cope with events in my life that might drive others to a therapist or at least a friend or family member that can take on that role. But that part of things aside, readers are the whole point.

So my advice to authors, new or old, is to respect your readers. If you do that, everything else should fall into place reasonably well. Write something you think will be enjoyable. Write something you would enjoy as a reader. That’s one of my benchmark tests with a project. If I can set it aside for a couple months, come back to it, and actually enjoy reading it myself, then odds are, there are readers out there who will enjoy it too.

When you do get to the point where your readers are reaching out to interact with you, remember that it’s because they liked your book. If they ask questions you can’t answer (because it’s a spoiler) tell them which book to expect the answer in, rather than just telling them you can’t answer or ignoring the questions. You don’t have to respond to each and every comment or questions if you get enough to be overwhelmed (we all dream of that, don’t we?) but at least send out a general response thanking your readers for their interest and questions.

I come to this topic primarily as a reader, since my presence as an author is still fairly small, but I want to remember that even if I get to be hugely popular. I want to remember that the readers are the most important part of the whole thing, and that without them I wouldn’t be popular and I wouldn’t be receiving all the attention. I want to remain gracious and grateful to my readers always, whether I sell a hundred books or a hundred thousand books.

R

*Title Photo incorporates two Stock Images, Not entirely my Work

2 thoughts on “R is for Readers

  1. Visiting during the #Challenge. Always happy to find a fellow writer. Now that my second novel is published, readers are on my mind, hoping they like the story, that is means something to them. They say, write for yourself, but once that is done, a reader is what it’s all about. Come and see me if you have time. I’ll be watching for you.

    • Thanks so much for stopping by. I’m trying to hit all the (WR) designated blogs on the challenge before the end of the month, so if I haven’t stopped by yet I should see you soon!

      Readers are so important, even when you are writing for you. I know I’m a reader too and there are a lot more readers like me out there, it’s just a matter of finding them and hoping they enjoy the book as much as I do.

Leave a Reply

