N is for NaNoWriMo

Standard

If you stumbled upon me through the A to Z Blog Challenge, welcome.  If not, check out the challenge and all those participating at their site.

 

This isn’t the first time I’ve talked about National Novel Writing Month, or NaNoWriMo, on my blog.  This past November was dedicated to this amazing event, and October was dedicated to preparation for it.  I expect both months will continue to follow that theme each year as I continue with my blog.

NaNoBanner2010-2014

NaNoWriMo is an amazing event put on for writers around the world each November.  In 2014, more than 1,000,000 writers participated from at least 65 countries and wrote more than 3,000,000,000 words.  Yes, more than 1 Million writers wrote over 3 Billion words in just 30 Days.  How awesome is that?

In addition to the amazing craziness that they foster each November, NaNoWriMo also hosts Camp NaNoWriMo in April and June.  CampNaNo is a little more laid back, since you get to pick your own word count goal and you are encouraged to “rebel” by writing whatever project you want, (short stories, screen plays, poetry, plays, novels, revisions, etc, etc).  But it’s still a great motivating tool with an amazing community of writers there to support and encourage you.

CampNaNoBanner2013-2014

NaNoWriMo also runs the Young Writers Program, which I’ll be talking about more toward the end of the month.  (It’s such a great Y writing word.)

NaNoWriMo has helped me write more than six novels so far between Novembers and Camps.  Not all of them are revised, but they are written, and that’s an excellent start.

Have you participated in NaNoWriMo before?  If not, what would it take for you to try it out in November?  For veteran WriMos, what has NaNoWriMo helped you accomplish?

N

*Title Image and all participant and winner badges Courtesy of NaNoWriMo.org

5 thoughts on “N is for NaNoWriMo

  1. I love participating in NaNo. I’m not published, but intend to be soon. It’s my goal. Not having an editor or a deadline often makes me get lazy about my novel and I justify it by telling myself that my writing has to come after my real job, my kids, family and home life . NaNo makes me accountable and that always makes me dedicate more time and effort to my writing . My family actually get out of the way and let me work on my novel, uninterrupted . I enjoyed your post.
    Melissa
    http://fictiontoolbox.blogspot.com

    • NaNo serves a very similar purpose for me. November lets me put my writing first, and my friends and family understand that and encourage me. It’s a great feeling knowing they’re all behind me as I work.

Leave a Reply

