M is for Muses

Standard

If you stumbled upon me through the A to Z Blog Challenge, welcome.  If not, check out the challenge and all those participating at their site.

 

Muses are an important part of the creative process.  I don’t just mean the mythical goddesses of ancient times who sent direct inspiration to their chosen humans.  I mean all the things and people that inspire us to create art.

Writing is an art just like any other.  It requires equal parts inspiration, creation, and perspiration.  I’ve talked a little about craft and drafting already this month, which addresses some of the perspiration and creation part of the equation.  Today I’ll talk about inspiration.

Most of my muses are people.  One of my most powerful muses is a dear friend that I lost years ago, but he still inspires me even today.  Another is my husband.  He inspires me to do my best at everything I do, and is an endless source of quirks for characters.  I’m inspired by the relationships I build with friends, and the relationships that fall apart in the end.  I’m inspired by my family, my coworkers, and strangers I see on the street.

My muses spark ideas, and I take those ideas and craft them into something so much more.  Without my muses in their infinite variety, I might never write another story.

What are your muses like?  Are they close friends, strangers, images, books?  Where do you find your inspiration most often?

M

*Title Photo Is a Stock Image, Not my Work

4 thoughts on “M is for Muses

  1. I think that anyone or anything that makes you think is a muse. Good post, glad I found you on the A-to-Z challenge. it’s my first year to participate. Drop by Down Home Thoughts and share a thought or two.

Leave a Reply

