J is for Journal Entry

Standard

If you stumbled upon me through the A to Z Blog Challenge, welcome. If not, check out the challenge and all those participating at their site.

 

For my Journal Entry today, I’m answering the Image Prompt from last week. I selected the cats in the kitchen image for my inspiration and this is what I came up with in my 20 minute sprint.

J

Arguing Familiars

The kitchen light was on when I came home. I wasn’t expecting my parents or sister to arrive for another hour, so I listened carefully as I unlocked the door and quietly entered the house.

I didn’t hear anything, and I pushed my magic out to look for anything out of the ordinary. I wasn’t sensing anything that shouldn’t have been there.

“Hey guys, I’m home,” I called out, figuring it was better to surprise an intruder before they were too close if there was one.

“You are late, Jamison,” came Tanya’s irritated voice in my head.

“I told you guys I was going to be late today,” I answered. My familiars could hear me from anywhere in the house so I didn’t bother expending the energy to speak mentally.

“I remembered,” Samuel said smugly.

“You’re also an evil bastard,” Tanya promptly replied.

“Okay, you two, what’s wrong now?” I asked, heading into the brightly lit kitchen.

Neither bothered to answer me.

Tanya was sitting on the blue office chair. It had somehow ended up in the middle of the floor instead of the corner where it belonged. I only kept the thing around because she liked it.

“So what happened today?” I asked, glancing around for Samuel.

Still no answer.

I finally spotted Samuel when I remembered to look up. My pitch black familiar was on top of the cabinets again. It was one of his favorite places because Tanya was either too lazy or unable to get up there.

“One of you is going to have to fess up eventually,” I said as I headed for the coffee machine.

I kept half an eye on Samuel above my head as I prepped a pot to start brewing. My parents and sister would want coffee when they got here. We had a long night ahead of us.

The two cats continued to refuse to talk to me, so I just went about settling my things before going over to Tanya’s chair. I scratched behind her gray ears and waited. She loved to complain about Samuel, so I figured she’d break first if I gave her some love.

I gazed down at her as he blue eyes slowly closed. She was a seal point Ragdoll, one of the most gorgeous cat’s I’d ever seen. She was also fifty percent fur by volume and shed more than any other animal we’d ever had in the house. The blue chair was coated in white fur from her rubbing against the back and sleeping on the seat.

When she started to purr I knew I had her. She’d do almost anything to keep me petting her once she started purring.

“So what happened today?” I murmured, still stroking and scratching between and behind her ears. I was saving the big guns in case she balked. Scratching down her back to the base of her tail would get you almost anything.

“We had a fight,” Tanya admitted.

“About what?” Whether I was going to be mad at them about it or not depended greatly on why they were fighting to begin with. Some things cats have to fight about. I get that, but if it wasn’t something like territorialness or food, they had to be accountable for their actions.

Tanya pushed her head up against my hand, shifting where my fingers were scratching and purred louder.

“The visit is going to disrupt our agreed upon schedule for the guest room bed,” Tanya finally admitted.

“You two are impossible,” I muttered. “It’s not like there aren’t dozens of other places in the house that are just as comfortable if not more so.” I was never going to understand why they fought over the guest bed of all places.

“The guest bed was Jessica’s before she moved out,” Samuel reminded me.

“So her magic still lingers? Is that it?”

“No,” Tanya corrected me.

“Would one of you explain this so I can understand it before they get here?”

“You do not sense it, so it will make no sense to you,” Tanya replied stiffly.

“Try me.” Just because I couldn’t sense what they did wasn’t a reason not to try to explain it to me.

“There is an aura about the bed,” Samuel told me.

“And you like this aura that is has?” I could understand that.

“It helps us to replenish ourselves,” Tanya replied.

“And now I understand why you want the bed so bad,” I told them. “Was that so hard?”

Neither of my familiars bothered to answer.

“I’ll talk to Jessica,” I told them. “I bet she’d let one of you sleep in there with her to keep your schedule.”

“That would be acceptable,” Samuel said, his yellow eyes blinking closed briefly.

“Yes, that would be workable,” Tanya agreed.

“Awesome,” I answered. “Now you can both still have dinner tonight.”

I got two growls in reply to that.

J

2 thoughts on “J is for Journal Entry

Leave a Reply

