D is for Drafting

Standard

If you stumbled upon me through the A to Z Blog Challenge, welcome.  If not, check out the challenge and all those participating at their site.

D is for Drafting, a very important part of the writing process.

The first thing that comes to mind, is the first draft.  And while you can’t get anywhere without one of those, it is important to remember that all the other drafts are just as important.

Revision is a huge part of the writing process, and drafting is a very helpful part of that process.  Dividing my work up into drafts allows me to have the confidence to make changes without worrying.  If the change turns out to not work as well as the original, I always have the original to return to, or draft 5, whichever.

2015-04-04 Drafts

I always save new drafts as completely new files so that I don’t have to worry about losing track of which draft is which.  From the original to draft 1 and on through 2, 3, 4, 5, and however many other drafts I need.  Lately I’ve been averaging around 10 drafts per project.

So as you’re working, remember to save the different versions of your work just in case.  And be sure to back it up in at least two places.  Backing up is very important.  I use DropBox and GoogleDrive to help me backup to multiple locations.  What tools do you use to back up your work as you’re drafting?

D

*Title Photo Is a Stock Image, Not my Work

One thought on “D is for Drafting

Leave a Reply

