B is for Books

Standard

If you stumbled upon me through the A to Z Blog Challenge, welcome.  If not, check out the challenge and all those participating at their site.

 

For the second day of my challenge, we have B is for Books.

As a writer, books are a big part of my life.  I read books, I write books, and I share books with others.  In the end, it all comes back to books.

Reading is one of the most important things I can do as a writer.  It is second only to writing in the absolute must do list for learning and practicing the craft of writing.  In honor of that I’d like to give you a list of some of the books and authors who have inspired me the most over the years.

2015-04-02 Books

These aren’t in any particular order, just a jumble of thoughts as they occur to me, but they’re definitely high up there on my list of favorites.  And just for fun, we’ll go with 13 of them.

  1. Mary Stewart’s Arthurian Saga
  2. Anne McCaffrey (I especially liked the Pern, Crystal Singer, and Brain Ship series)
  3. Guy Gavriel Kay
  4. Neil Gaiman (I especially love the Sandman series)
  5. Terry Pratchett
  6. Douglas Adams (Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy is amazing)
  7. Lois Lowery
  8. Marion Zimmer Bradley (Avalon and Darkover series are my favorites)
  9. Snow Crash by Neal Stephenson
  10. Lilian Jackson Braun’s Cat Who Series
  11. R.R. Tolkein
  12. Kate Elliot’s Crown of Stars series
  13. Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones

Want to know more about what I’m reading?  Check me out of Goodreads.

Heather C Wright on Goodreads

What are some of your favorite authors and books?

B

*Title Photo was created from Stock Images, Not my Work

12 thoughts on “B is for Books

Leave a Reply

