My Writing Space(s)

Standard

When you get a bunch of writers together, one of the things that comes up in conversation is your ‘writing space.’ Where do you write best, and where are you most comfortable writing. Some writers have very specific and dedicated writing space. Everything has to be perfect and in its place.

Me, not so much.

You’ll notice that (s) in the blog title today. It’s there for a reason. I do have some dedicated writing spaces. Places I return to again and again to write and write well.

That first image at the top of the post is my desk at home. I think of it as my NaNoWriMo writing space. Largely because every other month of the year my desk is piled with papers I need to sort or file, whatever I can’t figure out what to do with, and maybe a box or two to keep my cat off the desk.

Grad School Desk Year 2

Some of the other spaces I regular use to write are a little more varied. I write at my desk at work when I’m on lunch. I write at the kitchen table whenever I’m at my parents’ place. I write on an amazing lap desk while sitting in the recliner or on the loveseat in my living room. If it weren’t covered in boxes and sans chairs, I might write at my own dining room table too.

NaNoWriMo 2014 Work Desk 002

But then there are the weird places.

I sit in the passenger seat with my laptop and type away on stories while my husband drives on long car trips. I write in coffee shops when I meet up with other writers. I have been seen quite often typing away at a table at Olive Garden (among other restaurants) while I wait for my friend to arrive for our weekly dinner. I’ve written on airplanes, trains, and buses. I have been known to write in parks, tap out the beginning of a scene on my iPhone while waiting in line at a store, and I have been caught writing on napkins braced on the steering wheel while driving. (Please, don’t do this! It’s probably not safe even if I am looking at the road not the napkin.)

So you can see why I have to add that s when talking about my writing space. There are just too many of them. It probably has something to do with my accidentally cultivated habit of sitting down anywhere and writing without any delay. If you’re curious about that, tune in next week and I’ll explain.

Leave a Reply

