Where I’m From: The Prompt

Standard

I came across a really neat prompt for blogging recently, and I like it so much I’d like to share.

You can find the original prompt with its author’s version of the filled in prompt here.

They started with a cool quote: “If you don’t know where you’re from, you’ll have a hard time saying where you’re going.” Wendell Berry

The prompt is based on a poem by George Ella Lyons called “Where I’m From” and can be found at the end of the post ready for your to fill out. I’d love to hear everyone’s responses to the prompt. Post it on your blog and leave me a link in the comments, or on the comments next week when I post the 2015 edition.

I really like this prompt and it has a lot of room for creativity, so I’m going to make it a tradition of sorts. Once a year I’m going to do the prompt again and post it to the blog to see where I’m from that year that might be different from the year before or the year after.

The “Where I’m From” Prompt:

I am from _______ (specific ordinary item), from _______ (product name) and _______.

I am from the _______ (home description… adjective, adjective, sensory detail).

I am from the _______ (plant, flower, natural item), the _______ (plant, flower, natural detail)

I am from _______ (family tradition) and _______ (family trait), from _______ (name of family member) and _______ (another family name) and _______ (family name).

I am from the _______ (description of family tendency) and _______ (another one).

From _______ (something you were told as a child) and _______ (another).

I am from (representation of religion, or lack of it). Further description.

I’m from _______ (place of birth and family ancestry), _______ (two food items representing your family).

From the _______ (specific family story about a specific person and detail), the _______ (another detail, and the _______ (another detail about another family member).

I am from _______ (location of family pictures, mementos, archives and several more lines indicating their worth).

4 thoughts on “Where I’m From: The Prompt

Leave a Reply

