NaNoWriMo 2014 Week 1 Check In

Standard

Today marks the end of week 1 for 2014’s NaNoWriMo challenge. For anyone who hasn’t joined me in the challenge, it’s never too late to start. For those who are taking this incredible journey with me, how are we doing so far?

I started out the month at Midnight on November 1st in a chat room with my local WriMo buddies still sporting my Halloween costume. We had a blast sprinting for that first day’s goal before we’d even been to bed for the night. And oh my lord the sugar rushes we were enjoying.

One week later I started the day at 19,102 words so far for an average words per day of 3,183. Not too shabby if I do say so myself.

Fun facts from this week:

My very first sentence:

Stigr looked up at his mother with wide eyes as she set him on his bed.

My word cloud so far:

19,102 words so far

19,102 words so far

My favorite description so far:

When a new customer came in, Órflaith tried not to be too obvious as she watched him approach the counter. He wasn’t overly tall, and he had the golden skin, slim build, and almond shaped eye that Órflaith had learned were associated with humans from the Asian land mass. He was dressed conservatively. Pressed khaki pants and a button up shirt with a color. The blue looked exceptional against the golden color of his skin.

His eyes were a deep warm brown, and his features were delicate, almost feminine. His black hair was smooth and shiny and hung straight around his face and down onto his neck. He was a beautiful man really. But it wasn’t his appearance that fascinated her. The longer she looked at him from the corner of her eye, the more he seemed to glow.

A witch, she realized as the glow around him began to swirl and shift. He must be a human witch. She had heard of them, and even met a few centuries ago, but she had never been so close to one who hadn’t sought out her or her people on their own.

My fastest sprint this week:

982 words in 15 minutes for 65 words per minute

 

NaNoWriMo Shirts 2014

The 2014 NaNoWriMo T-Shirt

 

*Above Image is my photo of a t-shirt with design courtesy of NaNoWriMo.org

*Title Image Courtesy of NaNoWriMo.org

Leave a Reply

